Interview with Emma-Jayne Relf – Miss Voluptuous U.K. Finalist

Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to answer my questions about your pageant journey it’s lovely getting to know fellow pageant queens and more about the systems that they represent.

Can you introduce yourself ?

I’m Emma-Jayne Relf , Miss Voluptuous UK finalist, 44.

What made you decide to enter pageants ?

I entered pageants after taking part in a photo shoot about 5 years ago. I noticed that some of the ladies had sashes on and as fellow plus size women they were totally inspiring to me.

Can you tell us about your pageant journey so far ?

My first pageant I entered was Miss British Beauty Curve as Ms Norfolk Curve. For the last four years I have been a Miss Voluptuous finalist. Last year I was 2nd RU and also got the Style Icon award.

What made you decide to compete in the Miss Voluptuous System ?

I decided primarily to compete in Miss Voluptuous as it was a brand new plus size pageant and I had heard how friendly the ladies were. The following years I stayed because of the wonderful ethos and dedicated director. It feels like home.

What has pageantry taught you ?

I have learnt that I can be accepted no matter how old I may be and what I look like. It has given me confidence.

What’s your pageant platform and why ?

My pageant platform is Animal Welfare and in particular pets. I am intent on preventing animal cruelty through education. I also volunteer for Blue Cross and have learnt so much myself. I love animals!

What’s your dream title ?

My dream title is Miss Voluptuous International.

What would it mean to you if you were to win Miss Voluptuous International ?

If I won it would mean that people have seen what is in my heart and believe in me to do my best. It would be my proudest moment.

What’s the best advice you have for fellow pageant queens ?

My best advice to fellow pageant queens is enjoy yourself! Yes you can work hard and still enjoy your time as a title holder of finalist. A genuinely smiley queen is always nicer to see.

What have you been doing in the run up to your pageant final ?

In the run up to the final I have made a few live appearances before lockdown. Mostly I have been working on projects for my platform, volunteering as a Blue Cross Pet Hero and taking courses relating to my platform.

Do you have a favourite appearance ?

My favourite ever appearances were attending the Galaxy finals for the first time and running a Blue Cross merchandise stall at an event for the first time on my own.

How has lockdown caused by Covid19 affected your pageant journey ?

I’ve been very frustrated by the lockdown as I have been shielding and not allowed out at all. However it has given me the time and motivation to make online appearances, work on my platform projects and start my appearance book.

What makes a good pageant role model ?

A good pageant role model is relatable and approachable. Someone who will speak up for what they believe in and a hard worker.

What’s your favourite pageant round ?

My favourite pageant round is evening wear. I just love the elegance, the music, the pretty dresses!

How do you deal with pageant nerves ?

Oh I do get terrible nerves for the interview and I joke and laugh a lot beforehand to cope. I get a little nervous before I first go on stage but it’s different and I just want to get on there and enjoy it!

Social Media Link

Insta @bigbeautifuldoll

Thank you so much for taking the time to answer my questions it’s been lovely getting to know you and more about your platform. I wish you all the best at the final. Much love Charlotte, Ms Diamond South Yorkshire 2020.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started